[5]

We didn’t talk. He continued driving till we almost reached outside the city. Time and again, I felt him looking at me, but I couldn’t look at him. I just couldn’t. Instead I chose to look out of the window.

It was dead silent inside the car except for occasional car horns and the sound of the gentle hiss of the car engine.

We stopped once to refill the tank. He got down and bought some food. And then, we went on our journey.

Destination? None.

He nudged me once and handed me some food. I took them without a word. Neither did he say any.

We then went on. This time he put on some music.

It’s…. It is my one of my all time favorites. Did he know? Did my Mom put him up to this? Did she tell him?
Well I never told her in the first place… So… can it be? Chances are pretty thin. I looked at him to find him gently humming the tune as he took a bite of his burger.

He looked like a kid without a care. I think I might have even smiled…a little. For the first time, I think I noticed he had a dimple.

He noticed me looking at him. He raised his left eye brow questioningly. I shook my head meaning nothing. I joined in singing the song this time and looked out. He smiled this time. I think. I didn’t see. But I am guessing.

We went a long distance. I don’t know where we were going, but it seemed okay. I don’t know why…but…he after all, was a stranger I had gone out twice…well technically this is the second time. Where is he even taking me? The thought scared me…a little. But at the same time, it felt fine to just let him take me…far. I kind of liked it.

Soon I could see hills.

Wait!

Hills!

Wow!

Are we on a romantic getaway, as they call it?

That to unknowing to both of us…hopefully both of us…

I mean,

Dude, seriously?

[To be continued…]

Leave a comment